News

28.02.2012 Workshop D, 10.-12.12.2012 in Bayreuth

28.02.2012 Workshop C, 14.-18.05.2012 in Eldoret

08.11.2011 Workshop B, 21.-23.11.2011 in Eldoret

23.03.2011 Workshop A, 29.-31.03.2011 in Bayreuth

Project Schedule

The cooperation between the Moi University and the University Bayreuth is within the SEED Project planned for at the moment – four years. Within this time eight workshops are planned. Each year one of them will take place in Eldoret and one in Bayreuth. Aim of these workshops is the intensive exchange between the participating workgroup. In this connection report, the main focus is on discussion and planning seminars between providers and users of the utilized software systems. Main points are:

  • Virtual research and division of information
  • Digital archiving
  • Development of e-learning/teaching
  • Uing of social media
  • Online publishing
  • Letting other partners be a part

The workgroups that are part of this project consist of members of the administration and of the department of Informatics from both Universities. Aim of the college management group is the development of strategies for planning and implementation of ICT projects at the universities. These strategies are, within an IT-professional group, with concrete projects – validated and implemented. For this mainly software systems were chosen, which will improve the already existed cooperation between both universities. These systems include most importantly an interactive e-learning environment, also a platform which can be used by both sides, in order to have access to archives and the exchange of scientific works. These systems must be set up independently of each other in both universities, so that both partners also outside of the SEED-project can benefit from this. Regarding this, the focus is the cooperation with further partners.

Projektplan

Project Schedule

In the first two workshops (A and B) the base and strategies for a successful installation of ICT-projects at the universities should be developed. With the beginning of the second workshop (B) the existing IT-infrastructure should be analyzed at both universities. Within the cooperation computer systems will be arranged, which are respectively preconfigured and shall be adapted. Under the permanent supervision of the university management group, e-learning applications should be installed and also an archiving platform in both universities. In the terminal year of the project, the sustainability marks the main topic. Therefore, a presentation of results for representatives of other universities and institutes of both continents is planned.

Workshops

Location

A: 1. Quarter 2011

Bayreuth

B: 3. Quarter 2011

Eldoret

C: 1. Quarter 2012

Eldoret

D: 3. Quarter 2012

Bayreuth

E: 1. Quarter 2013

Eldoret

F: 3. Quarter 2013

Bayreuth

G: 1. Quarter 2014

Bayreuth

H: 3. Quarter 2014

Eldoret

Workshoptermine

University of Bayreuth -

Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

INSTITUT FÜR AFRIKASTUDIEN

SEED – NEUE IKT STRATEGIEN ZUR VERBESSERUNG DES HOCHSCHULMANAGEMENTS

Seite drucken
b_projektplan

Die Kooperation zwischen der Moi Universität und der Universität Bayreuth ist innerhalb des SEED Projekts zunächst für vier Jahre geplant. Innerhalb dieses Zeitraums sind insgesamt acht Workshops vorgesehen, wovon jährlich jeweils einer in Eldoret und einer in Bayreuth stattfinden wird. Ziel dieser Workshops ist der intensive Austausch zwischen den beteiligten Arbeitsgruppen vor Ort. Hierbei stehen Report, Diskussion und Planung genauso im Fokus wie Seminare zwischen Anbieter und Nutzer der eingesetzten Softwaresysteme. Schwerpunkte sind:
 

  • Virtuelle Forschung und Informationsteilung
  • Digitale Archivierung
  • Entwicklung von E-Learning/Teaching
  • Nutzung von sozialen Medien
  • Online Publizierung
  • Einbindung von weiteren Partnern

Die in diesem Projekt beteiligten Arbeitsgruppen stammen dabei aus den Bereichen Hoch-schulmanagement und Informatik. Ziel der Hochschulmanagement-Fachgruppe ist die Ent-wicklung von Strategien zur Planung und Durchsetzung von IKT-Projekten an Universitäten. Diese Strategien werden anschließend innerhalb einer IT-Fachgruppe anhand von konkreten Projekten validiert und umgesetzt. Hierfür wurden vor allem Softwaresysteme ausgewählt, welche die seit Jahren bestehende Kooperation zwischen beiden Universitäten deutlich in-tensivieren werden. Zu diesen Systemen zählen in erster Linie eine interaktive e-Learning Umgebung sowie eine gemeinsam nutzbare Plattform zur Archivierung und zum Austausch von wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten. Diese Systeme sollen dabei unabhängig voneinander an beiden Universitäten eingerichtet werden, damit beide Partner auch außerhalb des SEED-Projekts hiervon profitieren können. Dabei steht vor allem die Kooperation mit weiteren Partnern im Fokus.

Projektplan

Innerhalb der ersten beiden Workshops (A und B) sollten zunächst die Grundlagen und die Strategien für eine erfolgreiche Installation von IKT-Projekten an Universitäten entwickelt werden. Mit Beginn des zweiten Workshops (B) sollten die bestehende IT-Infrastruktur an beiden Universitäten analysiert und für die innerhalb der Kooperation geplanten Systeme entsprechend vorkonfiguriert bzw. angepasst werden. Unter der ständigen Überwachung der Hochschulmanagementgruppe sollen in der Folgezeit parallel sowohl e-Learning-Applikationen als auch eine Archivierungsplattform an beiden Universitäten eingerichtet wer-den. Im letzten Projektjahr steht die Nachhaltigkeit der Projekte im Vordergrund. Eine Präsentation der erzielen Ergebnisse vor Vertretern anderer Universitäten und Instituten beider Kontinente ist hierfür geplant.

Workshops
Location
A: 1. Quarter 2011Bayreuth
B: 3. Quarter 2011Eldoret
C: 1. Quarter 2012Eldoret
D: 3. Quarter 2012Bayreuth
E: 1. Quarter 2013Eldoret
F: 3. Quarter 2013Bayreuth
G: 1. Quarter 2014Bayreuth
H: 3. Quarter 2014Eldoret


Verantwortlich für die Redaktion: Kerstin Haseloff

Facebook Twitter Youtube-Kanal Instagram LinkedIn Blog UBT-A Kontakt