News

28.02.2012 Workshop D, 10.-12.12.2012 in Bayreuth

28.02.2012 Workshop C, 14.-18.05.2012 in Eldoret

08.11.2011 Workshop B, 21.-23.11.2011 in Eldoret

23.03.2011 Workshop A, 29.-31.03.2011 in Bayreuth

Workshop A in Bayreuth (29/03/2011 - 31/03/2011)

From 29.03.2011 until 31.03.2011 representatives of the university management, libraries and ICTs met for Workshop A in Bayreuth. After the introduction of each participant and their areas of work as well as the definition of the above mentioned aims of SEED, five workgroups have been established.

Moi University

Groups

University of Bayreuth

Prof. Richard K. Mibey (Vice Chancellor)

Prof. Bob Wishitemi (Deputy Vice Chancellor)

Management

Prof. Rüdiger Bormann (President)

Prof. Stefan Jablonski (Vice-President)

Prof. Alex Muumbo (Director ICT)

Dr. David Gichoya (Information Technology)

Informatics

Dr. Andreas Grandel (Director ICT)

Prof. Stefan Jablonski (Informatics)

Robin Hecht (Informatics)

Prof. Bob Wishitemi (Deputy Vice Chancellor)

Dr. Joyce Agalo (Director ODL)

E-Learning

Prof. Stefan Jablonski (Informatics)

Robin Hecht (Informatics)

Prof. Naomi Shitemi (SASS)

Busolo Wegesa (SASS)

Dr. Tirong Arap Tanui (Director Library)

Archiving

Dr. Ulf Vierke (DEVA)

Dr. Margrit Prussat (DEVA)

Ralf Brugbauer (Director Library)

Prof. Anne Nangulu (SASS)

User

Prof. Achim von Oppen (IAS)

Prof. Dymitr Ibriszimow (BIGSAS)

Workgroups within SEED

What is really pleasant are the high value estimation and the large interest, which the project and also the theme information- and communications technologies has and calls out in both universities. Thus in all workgroups leading co-workers of both partners participated, led to a large amount of subject specific know-how within SEED.

After the meeting the demands of each participant of both universities and the institutes which are part of the project, such as BIGSAS, IAS, DEVA and SASS were captured in several interview sessions. In this process he data-exchange, the archiving and also the publishing of scientific works crystallized as a requirement which was set up by all partners. Many Master- and PhD-theses have been only available as hardcopies in the Margaret Thatcher Library and hence, they are not available for scientists outside of Moi University. Also, scientists in Kenya can hardly get to the digitalized works from Bayreuth, because a common platform for data exchange is not yet available.

Another challenge in both universities is the offering of e-learning applications. While these becomes more and more the focus at the University of Bayreuth, in terms of lacking capacity for the increasing number of students, the size of the Moi University on the other hand causes enormous travel expenses for professors. (Moi University has campus appendices all over Kenya). A virtual lecture which is independent of location is therefore indispensable and the lack of technical strategies should be solved within SEED. In a similar context there is a wish for a trustworthy video conference system, which should intense the scientific dialogue between the German and Kenyan institutes.

Afterwards solutions and concepts were presented by representatives of the IT-group concerning the categories of information and communications technologies, which fulfill the previous requirements. Thus the chair for applied informatics 4 at the University of Bayreuth has already developed an interactive e-learning-system, with which he teaches virtual computer lessons in schools in Upper Franconia. ViATOR is a virtual research environment which is still under construction. As soon as ViATOR is finished it would take care of many requirements of SEED. Within this system, which is sponsored by DFG, scientists get their own virtual work environment in which they can manage their research projects and cooperate with other scientists. Additionally within the system of various IT-services the following are available: Saving space which can be used together, calculation capacity, data bases and various software products such as for example Microsoft Word. Users can, no matter the location, have access to their projects and IT-infrastructure of whatever university that is connected via ViATOR. ViATOR is appriciated by guest scientists mainly because they can independently of time and place have access to their usual work environment and through the integration of services of the partner university those scientists can be easily tied to their IT-infrastructure. This platform could make the wanted virtual cooperation between the Moi University and the University of Bayreuth possible.

As conclusion and result of Workshop A, the concrete aims of the working together were defined. Within the cooperation the following particular projects should be successfully carried out together:

  • Installation of trustworthy and robust video conference system
  • Istallation of a common usable archive for scientific works
  • Integration of an interactive e-learning environment
  • Development of a common virtual research environment

University of Bayreuth -

Aktuelles

28.11.2012 Workshop D, 10.-12.12.2012 in Bayreuth

28.02.2012 Workshop C, 14.-18.05.2012 in Eldoret

08.11.2011 Workshop B, 21.-23.11.2011 in Eldoret

23.03.2011 Workshop A, 29.-31.03.2011 in Bayreuth

Workshop A in Bayreuth (29.03.2011 - 31.03.2011)

Vom 29.03.2011 bis 31.03.2011 trafen sich Vertreter der Hochschulleitungen, der Bibliotheken, der Rechenzentren und der Austauschinstitutionen beider Universitäten zum Workshop A in Bayreuth. Nach Vorstellung der einzelnen Teilnehmer und deren Fachgebiete, sowie der Definition der oben genannten Ziele von SEED, konnten zügig fünf Arbeitsgruppen für deren Umsetzung gebildet werden.

Moi University

Groups

University of Bayreuth

Prof. Richard K. Mibey (Vice Chancellor)

Prof. Bob Wishitemi (Deputy Vice Chancellor)

Management

Prof. Rüdiger Bormann (President)

Prof. Stefan Jablonski (Vice-President)

Prof. Alex Muumbo (Director ICT)

Dr. David Gichoya (Information Technology)

Informatics

Dr. Andreas Grandel (Director ICT)

Prof. Stefan Jablonski (Informatics)

Dr. Robin Hecht (Informatics)

Prof. Bob Wishitemi (Deputy Vice Chancellor)

Dr. Joyce Agalo (Director ODL)

E-Learning

Prof. Stefan Jablonski (Informatics)

Dr. Robin Funck (Informatics)

Prof. Naomi Shitemi (SASS)

Busolo Wegesa (SASS)

Dr. Tirong Arap Tanui (Director Library)

Archiving

Dr. Ulf Vierke (DEVA)

Dr. Margrit Prussat (DEVA)

Ralf Brugbauer (Director Library)

Prof. Anne Nangulu (SASS)

User

Prof. Achim von Oppen (IAS)

Prof. Dymitr Ibriszimow (BIGSAS)

Arbeitsgruppen innerhalb von SEED

Besonders erfreulich sind dabei die hohe Wertschätzung und das enorme Interesse, welche das Projekt und somit auch das Thema Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien an beiden Universitäten genießt bzw. hervorruft. So konnten in allen Arbeitsgruppen führende Mitarbeiter beider Partner eingebunden und somit eine große Menge an fachspezifischem Knowhow innerhalb von SEED gebündelt werden.

In mehreren Interviewsessions wurden anschließend die Anforderungen der einzelnen Mitar-beiter beider Universitäten und der am Projekt beteiligten Institute wie BIGSAS, IAS, DEVA und SASS erfasst. Dabei kristallisierten sich vor allem der Austausch, die Archivierung und auch die Veröffentlichung von wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten als eine von allen Partnern gestellte Anforderung heraus. Demnach sind viele Arbeiten bisher ausschließlich in gebundener Ausgabe in der Bibliothek in Eldoret verfügbar und somit nicht für Wissenschaftler außerhalb der Moi Universität zugänglich. Ebenso ist es für Wissenschaftler in Kenia nur sehr umständlich möglich, an digitalisierte Werke aus Bayreuth zu gelangen, weil eine gemeinsame Plattform zum Datenaustausch nicht vorhanden ist.

Eine weitere Herausforderung an beiden Universitäten ist das Anbieten von e-Learning Angeboten. Während diese an der Universität Bayreuth aus mangelnder Kapazität für die wachsende Studentenzahl immer weiter in den Fokus rücken, verursacht die enorme Größe der Moi Universität mit ihren auf ganz Kenia verteilten Zweigstellen enorme Reisekosten für Dozenten. Eine ortsunabhängige virtuelle Vorlesung ist somit eine weitere Hauptanforderung, die innerhalb von SEED gelöst werden soll. In einem ähnlichen Zusammenhang steht der Wunsch nach einem zuverlässigen Videokonferenzsystem, welches gerade den wissenschaftlichen Dialog zwischen den deutschen und den kenianischen Instituten deutlich intensivieren soll.

Anschließend wurden durch Vertreter der IT-Gruppe Lösungen und Konzepte aus dem Bereich Informations- und Kommunikationstechnologien vorgestellt, welche die zuvor gestellten Anforderungen erfüllen. So hat der Lehrstuhl für Angewandte Informatik 4 bereits ein interaktives e-Learning-System entwickelt, mit dem er an Schulen in Oberfranken virtuelle Informatikunterrichtsstunden gibt. Auch die sich in der Entwicklung befindliche virtuelle Forschungsumgebung ViATOR würde nach ihrer Fertigstellung viele Anforderungen von SEED abdecken. Innerhalb dieses von der DFG geförderten Systems erhalten Wissenschaftler einen eigenen virtuellen Arbeitsraum, in dem sie ihre Forschungsprojekte verwalten und mit anderen Wissenschaftlern kooperieren können. Zusätzlich stehen ihnen innerhalb des Systems verschiedenen IT-Services wie gemeinsam nutzbarer Speicherplatz, Rechenkapazität, Datenbanken und verschiedene Softwareprodukte wie beispielsweise Microsoft Word zur Verfügung. Anwender sind somit in der Lage unabhängig ihres Aufenthaltsortes auf ihre Projekte und die IT-Infrastruktur derjenigen Universität zugreifen zu können, welche ViATOR anbietet. ViATOR stößt daher insbesondere bei Gastwissenschaftlern auf hohes Interesse, da diese zeit- und ortsunabhängig auf ihre gewohnte Arbeitsumgebung zugreifen und durch das Einbinden von Services der Partneruniversität sehr leicht an deren IT-Infrastruktur angebunden werden können. Diese Plattform könnte die gewünschte virtuelle Kooperation zwischen der Moi Universität und der Universität Bayreuth durch das Einbinden eines gemeinsamen Archives ermöglichen.

Als Abschluss und Ergebnis von Workshop A wurden die konkreten Ziele der Zusammenarbeit definiert. Innerhalb der Kooperation sollen folgende Teilprojekte gemeinsam erfolgreich umgesetzt werden:

  • Installation eines zuverlässigen und robusten Videokonferenzsystems
  • Aufbau eines gemeinsam nutzbaren Archivs für wissenschaftliche Arbeiten
  • Einbindung einer interaktiven e-Learning Umgebung
  • Entwicklung einer gemeinsamen virtuellen Forschungsumgebung

Universität Bayreuth -